In judging which candidates should be considered IndustryWeek's 100 Best-Managed Companies, IW consulted with a wide array of experts representing performance areas essential to manufacturing success. For business reasons, many chose not to have their names published. Below is a partial list of panelists whose input was helpful to the editors: Buzz Adams, president, Peak Value Consulting Inc.; Raj Aggerwal, the Edward J. & Louise E. Mellen chair and professor of finance, John Carroll University; Stephen J. Anderson, commercial attach, U.S. & Foreign Commercial Service, U.S. Embassy, Beijing; Warren Bennis, distinguished professor of business, University of Southern California; Barrett L. Boehm, partner, PricewaterhouseCoopers; Pankaj Chandra, professor of operations and technology management, Indian Institute of Management; Louis C. Cole, CEO and president, Legato Systems Inc.; Thomas S. Davis, president and COO, Mannington Mills Inc.; Sandra Dawson, director, Judge Institute of Management Studies, Cambridge University; Jay Desai, president and CEO, Institute of Global Competitiveness; Beatrice Desimoni, public-relations manager, Open Mind Technologies; Richard Dyck, president and CEO, TCS; A. V. Feigenbaum, president and CEO, General Systems Co. Inc.; Jeffrey A. Finkle, president, Council for Urban Economic Development; Edward E. Frey, vice president, Booz, Allen & Hamilton Inc.; Thomas Gerrard, president, Communication Professionals; Linda Gornitsky, president, LBG Associates; Paul R. Haas, president and CEO, Russell T. Gilman Inc.; Robert W. Hall, editor-in-chief, Assn. for Manufacturing Excellence; Robert Russman Halperin, associate dean, Babson School of Executive Education; Charles Handy, fellow, London Business School; Leo Higdon, president, Babson College; Curt Hitchcock, group vice president, Godfrey Advertising; Nicholas Keller, retired board member, Vendex International; Munesh Khanna, partner-corporate finance, Arthur Andersen; Dae-Eun Kim, associate professor, School of Electrical and Mechanical Engineering, Yonsei University; Fred F. King, accounts manager, Eastern Michigan University Center for Quality; Jeffrey Liker, professor of industrial and operations engineering, University of Michigan; Thomas Kuczmarski, president, Kuczmarski & Associates; Peter Lorange, president, International Institute for Management Development (IMD); Michael D. Lord, professor, Babcock Graduate School of Management, Wake Forest University; John L. Mariotti, president and CEO, Enterprise Group; Michael T. McCune, director of marketing, China Link Research; Michael E. McGrath, managing director, Pittiglio Rabin Todd & McGrath; Kenneth J. McGuire, president, Manufacturing Excellence Action Coalition; R. Charles Moyer, dean, Babcock Graduate School of Management, Wake Forest University; Mark M. Orton, vice president, NESI Inc.; Piero Morosini, strategy professor, IMD; Herbert Moskowitz, director, Dauch Center for the Management of Manufacturing Enterprises, Purdue University; Deborah Nightingale, senior lecturer, Dept. of Aeronautics & Astronautics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Douglas Olesen, president and CEO, Battelle Memorial Institute; Caryn Pawliger, manager of programs, Public Affairs Council; John H. Puckett, president, Visions of Excellence; John Randall, owner, Randall & Associates; Donald J. Reed, deputy director, World Resources Institute; Ernie Renner, director, Best Manufacturing Practices Center of Excellence; Jude T. Rich, chairman, Sibson & Co.; Hank Rogers, president, Hank Rogers & Associates; Michael Rothschild, president and CEO, Maxager Technology Inc.; Stephen A. Sasser, president and CEO, Symix Systems Inc.; Danny Samson, professor, University of Melbourne; William B. Schaphorst, international account manager, Schneider Electric; Lance Secretan, president, Secretan Center Inc.; Larraine Segil, partner, Lared Group; Howard Singer, managing partner for manufacturing and distribution, Grant Thornton LLP; Edward A. Snyder, dean, Darden School, University of Virginia; Ruth Stanat, president, SIS International Research; Fred G. Steingraber, chairman and CEO, A.T. Kearney Inc.; Ken Stork, president, Ken Stork & Associates Inc.; Robert L. Taylor, dean, College of Business & Public Administration, University of Louisville; Douglas van den Berghe, research associate, Erasmus University Rotterdam; Peter T. Ward, associate professor, operations management, Fisher College of Business, Ohio State University; Sarah Wassgren, assistant director, Dauch Center for the Management of Manufacturing Enterprises, Purdue University; Claus Weyrich, executive vice president-corporate technology, Siemens Corp.

Popular Sponsored Recommendations

Voice your opinion!

To join the conversation, and become an exclusive member of IndustryWeek, create an account today!