11 Nations Support Euro

Although formal designation won't happen until May, eleven of the European Union's 15 nations are ready to participate in the debut of a common currency, the euro, come Jan. 1, 1999. Greece won't be present because its public-sector deficit is above allowable levels. And three other countries--Denmark, Sweden, and the UK--have opted out of European economic and monetary union (EMU) for the present.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.