Manufacturing Interoperability Standards Defined

The Manufacturing Interoperability Guideline Working Group has decided to normalize manufacturing interoperability standards for process, discrete, and mixed-mode manufacturing using the ISA-95 and OAGi models. They will work together on the ISA-95 Part 4, Object Models, and may later update ISA-95 Parts 1 and 2.

"It's an important milestone in our development process, because we've been able to come together and agree on the main points of our process and how we want to drive our activities in the future," said Gary Sullivan of BWXT and chairman of the Working Group in a statement.

The Manufacturing Interoperability Guideline Working Group is led by five principal member organizations -- OAG, OPC, MIMOSA, WBF, and ISA -- which together represent end-users and suppliers from across the process, discrete and mixed-mode manufacturing industries.

The guiding principles of ISA-95 standards documentation is that it should facilitate development of software services under a service-oriented architecture with the goal of providing semantic interoperability and reducing the cost and complexity of IT systems integration.

A consistent and expanded set of business object models, terminology, and transactions will be developed within the scope of the ISA-95 and OAGi standards, including generally accepted practices for discrete and process industries.

The group intends to make sure that the standards and messages work with established methodologies and practices adopted by UN/CEFACT including Naming and Design Rules (NDR) and proposed Core Components Technical Specifications (CCTS).

Interested in information related to this topic? Subscribe to our twice-monthly Information Technology eNewsletter.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.