Commerce Secretary Names Manufacturing Council Members

By John S. McClenahen Five months after he released the Bush administration's report on U.S. manufacturing, Commerce Secretary Donald L. Evans has named 11 members of a manufacturing advisory council. "The newly formed Manufacturing Council will provide the real world experience needed to ultimately help strengthen the industry and create manufacturing jobs across America," Evans said when he announced the council members on June 15. The members are: George L. Gonzalez, founder, president and CEO of Aerospace Integration Corp.; Fred P. Keller, chairman, CEO and founder of Cascade Engineering; James B. McGregor, president of Morgal Machine Tool Co. Inc.; Wayne W. Murdy, chairman and CEO of Newmont Mining Corp.; Michael R. Nowak, president and CEO of Coating Excellence International; James W. Owens, chairman and CEO of Caterpillar Inc.; Jim Padilla, COO of Ford Motor Co. and chairman of its automotive operations; Charles P. Pizzi, president and CEO of Tasty Baking Co.; Daniel Harding Stowe, president and CEO of R.L. Stowe Mills Inc.; Markos I. Tambakeras, chairman, president and CEO of Kennametal Inc.; and Scott Thiss, chairman and chief executive of S&W Plastics LLC. Earlier this year, Evans appointed Arthur D. "Don" Wainwright, chairman and CEO of Wainwright Industries Inc., chairman of the Manufacturing Council and named Karen Wright, president and owner of Ariel Corp., as vice chair.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.