Finalists for ISM's Richter Awards Announced

Feb. 23, 2009
Supply management departments recognized for innovation and leadership.

Supply management departments at 14 companies have been named among the finalists in the fourth annual R. Gene Richter Awards for Leadership and Innovation in Supply Management, an honor bestowed since 2004 by the Institute for Supply Management (ISM).

ISM will announce winners from among the 2009 finalists in April. Representatives from winning organizations will present their stories of leadership and innovative thinking in Charlotte, N.C., at the institute's 94th Annual International Supply Management Conference and Educational Exhibit to be held May 3-6.

Named after supply management leader and innovator R. Gene Richter, the awards recognize innovative supply organizations that through strong leadership have dramatically increased their contribution to organizational success. Four entry categories include: Process; Technology; People; and Organization/Structure.

The 2009 Richter Corporate Award Finalists are:

  • Advanced Micro Devices (Process Category)
  • Alltel Communications Inc. LLC (Organization/Structure Category)
  • Alltel Communications Inc. LLC (Process)
  • ATMI, Inc. (Organization/Structure Category)
  • Cessna Aircraft Company (Process Category)
  • Materials, Intel Corporation (Process Category)
  • J. C. Penney Corporation, Inc. (Process Category)
  • KPN Energy Management (Process Category)
  • Lockheed Martin Missiles and Fire Control (Technology Category)
  • Mead Westvaco Corporation (Process Category)
  • Mead Westvaco Corporation (Technology Category)
  • Sonoco Products Company (Process Category)
  • Terex Corporation (Technology Category)
  • Tyco International (Organization/Structure Category)
  • UNIBANCO (Organization/Structure Category)
  • United States Postal Service (Technology Category)
Finalists in the 2009 competition were selected from applications received in an online submission process held July 1-31, 2008. The fifth annual ISM R. Gene Richter Awards for Leadership and Innovation in Supply Management call for entries will open in July 2009. For more information or to sign up to receive e-mail updates, visit Sponsors for the fourth annual ISM R. Gene Richter Awards for Leadership and Innovation in Supply Management are:
  • Gold -- A.T. Kearney Procurement & Analytic Solutions; HP
  • Silver -- ADR International; Anklesaria Group, Inc.; Bank of America; BP; eclaro international; McKinsey & Co.; and Tyco International

Popular Sponsored Recommendations

Food and Beverage 2024 Trends and Outlook for North America

Oct. 29, 2023
Ready to hear what 200 of your peers said are the top challenges and opportunities in 2024? Don’t fall behind. Uncover actionable insights to better prepare for 2024 in this whitepaper...

7 Crucial Steps to Improve Your OT Security

Oct. 23, 2023
Enhance OT security in manufacturing and production. Uncover the crucial steps to safeguard your operational technology. Protect against evolving threats and bridge the IT-OT ...

The Realist Guide to Sustainable Supply Chains

Sept. 28, 2023
A ‘roll up your sleeves’ guide to driving green line performance at your organization. Learn with this easy-to-understand ebook how to implement green supply chain management ...

Are You Positioned To Tackle Supply Chain Risk?

Sept. 20, 2023
Supply chain disruption is here to stay, but you can keep ahead of potential issues — and identify new opportunities — by regularly assessing your suppliers. Download our supplier...

Voice your opinion!

To join the conversation, and become an exclusive member of IndustryWeek, create an account today!