Four Candidates In WTO's DG Race

The Geneva, Switzerland-based World Trade Organization (WTO) is in the process of picking a successor to Supachai Panichpakdi, whose term as director general expires Aug. 31.

There are four candidates, who began meeting with WTO members this week. Uruguay's Carlos Prez del Castillo is currently special adviser on international trade negotiations to the president of Uruguay. Jaya Krishna Cuttaree is Mauritius' minister of foreign affairs, international trade and regional cooperation. Luiz Felipe de Seixas Corra is Brazil's current representative to the WTO. And France's Pascal Lamy was from 1999 until this year the European Union's commissioner for trade.

The WTO is expected to make its pick no later than May 31.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.