Are You Certifiable?

ISACA Enterprise Governance Credential program to focus on five areas of IT governance to meet growing business demands; program also to offer "grandfather clause"

In an attempt to support the growing business demands related to IT governance, promote IT governance good practices and recognize skilled IT governance professionals, the nonprofit, international professional association ISACA has developed a new certification: Certified in the Governance of Enterprise IT (CGEIT).

Supported by the IT Governance Institute (ITGI) and built on ITGIs intellectual property and input from subject matter experts from around the world, the CGEIT designation focuses on the five areas of IT governancestrategic alignment, resource management, risk management, performance measurement and value delivery -- as well as on frameworks that provide support for IT governance (e.g., COBIT and ITIL). The certification is designed for professionals who have a significant management, advisory or assurance role relating to the governance of IT and who wish to be recognized for their IT governance-related experience and knowledge.

To earn the CGEIT certification, applicants must prove at least five years of experience supporting the governance of an enterprises information technology and must pass the CGEIT exam. The first CGEIT exam will be administered in December 2008. A grandfathering program, through which individuals who are highly experienced in the governance of IT may apply for the certification without taking the exam, is now available and can be viewed at

The CGEIT designation is the third certification offered by ISACA. In 1978, ISACA established the Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA) designation, which has been earned by more than 50,000 professionals since inception. In 2002, the CISM certification was introduced, and has since been earned by more than 6,500 professionals.

Interested in information related to this topic? Subscribe to our twice-monthly Information Technology eNewsletter.
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.