NAM Endorses Energy Efficiency Act

March 25, 2009
Bill will provide funds for companies that adopt advanced energy efficient production technologies and processes

The Energy Efficiency Act of 2009 (S. 661) sponsored by Senators Jeff Bingaman (D-NM), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Susan Collins (R-ME), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Olympia Snowe (R-ME), Evan Bayh (D-IN), Sherrod Brown (D-OH) and Mark Pryor (D-AR), is designed to help revitalize the nation' industrial base and increase industrial energy productivity by:

  • Establishing financing mechanisms for both small and large manufacturers to adopt advanced energy efficient production technologies and processes, which will allow them to be more productive and less fuel dependent, cutting costs instead of jobs.
  • Using industry-led partnerships to identify breakthrough technologies to reduce energy intensity and greenhouse gas emissions. The legislation will offer competitive grants to industry and small businesses to encourage development and deployment of energy efficient technologies.
  • Expanding the number and expertise of the Industrial Research and Assessment Centers to better meet the needs of small and medium manufacturers. The bill also provides for workforce training through paid internships at the Industrial Research and Assessment Centers where students will work with manufacturers on energy efficient technologies.

"Restoring America's manufacturing leadership through the Energy Efficiency Act of 2009 is a welcome bi-partisan approach to one of our most daunting challenges -- developing new energy technologies to improve efficiency and reduce carbon emissions," said John Engler, President of the National Association of Manufacturers (NAM).

S. 661 will be considered as part of the comprehensive energy legislation that the Senate Energy Committee expects to start marking up next week.

Sponsored Recommendations

Voice your opinion!

To join the conversation, and become an exclusive member of IndustryWeek, create an account today!